ACYM Commission

The vision and direction of ACYM is overseen by an eleven person Commission consisting of people currently serving or experienced in parish-based children’s and youth ministry, and related ministries school chaplaincy.

The ACYM Commission meets bi-monthly at the Wollaston Theological College.

The current chair is The Right Reverend Kate Wilmot.

The commissioners are:
Mr Nic Templeman (Deputy Chair)
The Reverend Chris Bedding (Secretary)
The Reverend Dr Gregory Seach
The Reverend Josephine Steytler
The Reverend David Lord
The Reverend Stephen Conway
The Reverend Tim Russel
Mrs Julie Ward
Ms Fiona McGlinn
Mr Chris Oliver

As a standing commission of Synod, the ACYM Commission is established to:

  • encourage the development of vital worshipping communities where children and young people are integral to the life of the community of believers
  • assist schools, agencies, vital worshipping communities and individuals to introduce children and young people to Jesus, to nurture their relationship with Jesus and to encourage them towards maturity in their faith
  • unify, communicate and deliver children’s and youth ministry in the Diocese of Perth through the Anglican Youth and Children’s Activity Network (AYCAN) family of ministries and offer ministry to Anglican schools
  • work towards implementing objectives identified in any diocesan strategic plans in place from time to time.